Book Arts Round-Up, 5/2

A few AWESOME things I’ve found in the book arts world lately:

I’m beside my nerd-y self about this video that contrasts 18th and 19th century bookbinding operations. It’s 30 minutes, but it’s fascinating. And it’s worth noting that most of the techniques we cover in class are much more of the 19th century.


This book by Robbin Ami Silverberg is called “About Pearl.” Here’s how Silverberg describes it: “I created a series of unique handmade papers for the book that would contain a text I wrote about my grandmother’s skin and thoughts on aging. Each book in this series holds the identical text; each is unique because of its variety of skin-like papers, that suggest skin’s wondrous wrinkled surface.”

See more photos.


This is one of several examples of books with wooden covers. I don’t know about you, but I’d love to experiment with using alternative cover materials–wood, slate, linoleum flooring.

See the other examples. 

 

 

 


Ok, stop. Seriously. Can we just take about a minute to appreciate the sheer immensity of this book?! The way it uses its native materials and the light to create something new. Ack. I can’t handle it.

This gorgeous book was made by master binder Monique Lallier. She says this of using cut outs: “I suppose I keep coming back to it because I like the effect of “seeing through”, like in Les Sonnets (shown below) where the boards, the covering leather and the leather doublures are all cut out. In this case, it was to illustrate how Les Sonnets have an impression on you.” 

Read more about Monique in this recent interview by Herringbone Bindery.

 


I suppose this next image is a rare inclusion, since the book is definitely not handmade. But given the scope of our program, I think it’s important for us to consider how books can be artful in any form–handmade, machine made–and how that art should extend to all elements (materials, design, content). So, without further ado, I’m getting a kick out of the designer created individual books that come together to create a new whole.

 

Leave a Reply

